Three Good Things – Day Seven

Today’s Three Good Things – The what’s and the why’s?

1. Lunch with J.
J and I met in London where we both worked for a global organisation. Since meeting, we’ve forged the kind of connection you have with people you meet on your travels… particularly if you’re from the same city. Todays lunch was at the usual, City Edge on Reservoir. I convinced her to check it out with me based on the premise of good food and hot men. Funnily enough, the latter didn’t really exist today but we still had the spoils of a good meal and obviously good chat, too.

2. Leaving work before 7pm
In advertising, it’s apparently the norm to not have lunch breaks or work the hours of 9 to 5. I wouldn’t know really since it’s my first job in a factory… ahem, advertising agency. So I managed a proper hour for lunch today, but leaving at 6pm still needs has to be worked on. It’s amazing what happens when your bosses are at the pub having a pint.

3. A dog with short legs jumping on to a super-high bed.
Mica, my sister’s dog, is a Pomeranian cross Maltese. She’s got stumpy little legs and a body like a keg. I left my room today to go and collect my tea from the kitchen. I also left a plate behind with some marinated fish and a corn cob. I expected to see her sitting on the floor upon my return, looking up at the bed with sad eyes. But no. She had bolstered her rotund self on to the bed and was polishing off half the fish while I yelled like a crazy lady. I’ve gotta say it’s a major feat for a furry person of her stature to make it up on to the bed. So well done to her. But she’s been on a diet for a few months now (I blame European parents for overfeeding and no idea about portion control) so it’s more about the health hazard.

I guess I’ve learned two good things –- don’t leave food on the bed, and if you really do want something, you will get it –– even if you’re an animal.
—-

The Three Blessings practice was designed by Dr Martin Seligman, to help re-focus our thoughts on positive experiences, rather than the negative ones we tend to wallow in. I’ve re-named mine to Three Good Things because I think the term ‘blessing’ is misleading considering I’m not religious.

Leave a Reply

