Three Blessings – Day One

Today’s Three Blessings – The what’s and the why’s?

1. Starting my exercise routine from scratch.
I actually made it through 15 minutes of painful leg sculpting exercises after weeks without exercise. It killed me but I even forced myself to do a 30 min walk afterwards and felt relieved. I’m so glad I did it because it means I’m back on the track to fitness and getting those serotonin levels back up.

2. Having a conversation with my sister without an argument.
My sister and I finally had a discussion where I refused to judge her based on her decisions. I acted like a sister, not a parent and there was not a single argument out of it. I guess when I remember that I can not control other people’s emotions or ways of living, it makes it easier to accept her for who she is without the need to want to lecture her. And that in turn helps our sisterly bond come back again.

3. Spending a few minutes talking with my 90-something grandfather.
It’s not easy to remember the language I spoke as a child fluently but for each conversation I have with him, even if it’s broken, still counts as something for the both of us. He’s getting the interaction he missed while living alone and I’m brushing up on my Ukrainian.

—-

The Three Blessings practice was designed by Dr Martin Seligman, to help re-focus our thoughts on positive experiences, rather than the negative ones we tend to wallow in.

Leave a Reply

